Fall in Love with Your Bed All Over Again

There is something about a new year that makes me want to completely makeover my apartment. But then I look at how much I splurged over the holidays on gifts (many for myself, I am very good to me) and I rethink this plan. Notice I said I rethink this plan, not toss the plan out the window. So in order to satisfy the urge to get rid of everything I own and buy all new stuff I make small tweaks here and there until I achieve the look I want. This means starting in one room and focusing on one area at time. Last week I focused on my bed. It is the focal point in my room, a blank canvas, and my home base. What I decide to do with it will help me determine what I end doing with the rest of the room.

prod690614

Stonewashed Belgian Linen Sheet Set from Restoration Hardware

In most cases if I can afford to go all out and splurge on something fantastic and timeless I will. There are, however, times where I am not able to, or times where I don’t think it is truly worth it. So let’s cuddle up and chat about beds. A good mattress is priceless so definitely splurge. Good pillows are also totally worth it, I mean you can’t put a price on a good nights sleep, ever.

Sheets. Sheets are one of those things that are worth a splurge (if you can swing it), but if you shop around you can find fantastic sheets at amazing prices. And remember if you are a real adult you need at least two sets. If I could afford the stonewashed Belgian linen sheets at Restoration Hardware, without feeling guilty, I would have them in a few colors. However, I know I can find really amazing Egyptian Cotton sheets at stores like HomeGoods and T.J. Maxx without forgoing food for the next few weeks.

So what’s the deal with thread count and this Egyptian Cotton I speak of? Well without getting too technical people seem to obsess over the thread count, which is both important but also not…let me explain. The thread count is often used as a way to gauge the durability and smoothness of the sheets. However this measurement of threads woven into one square inch of fabric isn’t always accurate or reliable. And it usually boils down to the quality of cotton that is used. So thread count is important, but the quality of the cotton is typically more important.

And which cotton is the best of the best? Well 100% Egyptian Cotton of course! Why? Well Egyptian Cotton’s fibers are long and produce sheets that are both thin and luxurious, but also strong and durable. Second best is 100% Pima Cotton or also known as Supima. If the label on the sheets just reads 100% Cotton it’s safe to assume that these are made from American upland cotton, which has shorter fibers and produces a rougher weaker fabric.

hmprod

White Linen Duvet and Pillow Shams at H&M Home

Now let’s talk duvets, quilts, comforters…to be honest I am not a fan of those bed in a bag comforters of any kind. I either choose a beautiful quilt or a duvet. Duvets are nice because you can easily change the look of your bed with simply buying a new one and most don’t cost that much at all. What goes inside the duvet is another story. Down comforters or down alternative comforters come in a range of prices and weights. It is best to read reviews before buying and really think about what you are looking for in terms of warmth.

FullSizeRender (2)

Currently I have a duvet, I was really obsessing over the linen duvets and shams at both Pottery Barn and Restoration Hardware, but then I just happened to pop by H&M Home at the flagship store here in NYC and found a beautiful white linen duvet with the shams for only 50 bucks! If you haven’t checked out H&M Home you must, and if you don’t live in NYC check them out online! Now is it as luxurious as the RH version? Probably not. But for right now while I am trying to decide in which direction I want to take my bedroom it will do just fine.

The picture above is of my bed all decked out in H&M dark gray linen pillow shams, throw pillow, white linen duvet, and a light gray king sized blanket. And of course every cozy bed needs a good book on hand, I suggest Amy Poehler’s Yes Please, it’s amazing.

Now layer up and go get yourself some new bedding. Then run home make-up your new comfy bed, get cozy, and never leave…because it’s going to be a long winter.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

